COVID-19 Updates:

CCM Navigation



Two E-Media Professors Win Best of Festival Awards

Kevin Burke

Professor Kevin Burke

Hagit Limor

Assistant Professor Hagit Limor

Congratulations to Assistant Professor Hagit Limor and Professor Kevin Burke who have both won the “Best of the BEA Festival” award in their individual categories for recently submitted works to the Broadcast Education Association Festival of Media Arts. Professor Limor has won in the Hard News Reporting Category for her Ford Spark Plug Investigational Report.   Professor Burke has won in the Faculty Video Competition for the Gold Rush Expedition Race Documentary.  

The Broadcast Education Association (BEA) is the professional association for professors, industry professionals and students who are interested in teaching and research related to electronic media and multimedia enterprises.

Winners will exhibit their works at the BEA’s annual convention in Las Vegas April 6-9, 2014.  Best of Festival winners will receive a $1,000 cash award from the Charles and Lucille King Family Foundation and will be honored during a special ceremony at the BEA convention. 

The Best of Festival award is the top-ranked award in the overall competition, across all categories in the competition and among three award titles:  Award of Excellence, the Best of Competition and the Best of the BEA Festival.

Faculty entries are evaluated in a blind review process, similar to published research articles.  A festival competition chair, who coordinates each specific competition category, works with faculty and professionals across the nation to “jury” their work.  The Festival Review Board has been organized and operates like an editorial board for a scholarly refereed journal.  People making up the review board constitute a large group of nationally recognized professional and professors, who may be organized into panels, for judging individual faculty entries.  Individual entries are sent to the judges, by the co-chair, much like research articles are sent to the reviewers. Faculty member’s creative works are recognized as equal to scholarly publication.

For more information about the BEA, visit

published February, 2014