COVID-19 Updates:

CCM Navigation

CCM, Composition, Musicology and TheoryCollege-Conservatory of MusicComposition, Musicology & TheoryUniversity of Cincinnati

CCM, Composition, Musicology and Theory
Alexander Zemlinsky and Arnold Schoenberg

Alexander Zemlinsky Prize for Composition

Louise Zemlinsky

Louise Zemlinsky

Mrs. Louise Zemlinsky endowed the Alexander Zemlinsky Prize for Composition at the University of Cincinnati in 1990 to promote the music of young composers from around the world.  

The Alexander Zemlinsky Prize for Composition serves three purposes:

  • to perpetuate the memory of Alexander Zemlinsky.
  • to discover new works for symphony orchestra that are truly original and have the power to communicate with and engage a broad audience.
  • to promote and encourage young composers from around the world.

Prize Details

Three prizes will be given as follows:

  • First Prize: $30,000 cash prize, plus the world premiere performance by CCM's Philharmonia Orchestra in its 2019-2020 season of a newly commissioned work for orchestra (instrumentation TBD) and ballet, plus a commercially produced recording by the CCM Philharmonia.
  • Second Prize: $20,000 cash prize.
  • Third Prize: $10,000 cash prize.

Terms of the Awards: For the first prizewinner, 50% of the cash prize will be awarded upon announcement of the prizewinners; the remaining 50% will be awarded upon the receipt of scores and parts. For the second and third prizewinners, the entire prize will be awarded upon the announcement of the prizewinners.

Adjudication: Judges for the competition will be selected by the Dean of CCM, the Alexander Zemlinsky Fund in Vienna, and the Austrian Cultural Institute in New York City.

Eligibility and Instructions for Submission

  • Composers of any nationality born after April 1, 1984 may apply.
  • Applications will be accepted between November 5, 2018 and February 28, 2019.
  • Eligible composers will submit one score of 10-15 minutes for orchestra of any size (either published or unpublished). Recordings of this work, while not necessary, are encouraged. A MIDI recording is acceptable in lieu of a live performance.
  • More information, including the application portal, can be found at

Past Prize Winners


  • Ulrich Kreppein, First Prize, Spiel der Schatten (The Play of the Shadows)
  • Aaron Travers, Second Prize, Fairytale
  • Miguel Farías, Third Prize, Ecos de un Color (Echoes of a Color)


  • Enrico Chapela, First Prize
  • Narong Prangcharoen, Second Prize
  • Cynthia Lee Wong, Third Prize


  • Katsuji Maeda, First Prize, Reflections
  • Moritz Eggert, Second Prize, Number Nine I-III
  • Kelly-Marie Murphy, Third Prize, Utterances