COVID-19 Updates:

CCM Navigation

CCM, Composition, Musicology and TheoryCollege-Conservatory of MusicComposition, Musicology & TheoryUniversity of Cincinnati

CCM, Composition, Musicology and Theory


CCM is proud to announce the First, Second and Third Prize winners of the 2013 Alexander Zemlinsky Prize for Composition, the third international competition of its kind for young composers:

Ulrich Kreppein

Ulrich Kreppein (photography © Raf Thienpont)

Ulrich Kreppein, First Prize

Ulrich Kreppein, Ph.D., a 34-year-old native of Germany has emerged as the competition’s First Prize winner for his original work entitled Spiel der Schatten (The Play of the Shadows). For his achievement, Mr. Kreppein receives a cash award of $30,000 and the opportunity to write a new work that will be performed by one of CCM’s world-renowned orchestras in spring 2015.

Kreppein has received awards in several notable composition competitions. He was awarded the “Saarbrückener Komponistenwerkstatt” (Composers Workshop Saarbrücken) in 2001 and received third prize at the “Musica Sacra Competition” in Poland in 2005. In 2008 he was selected as a finalist for the International Tactus Competition in Mons, Belgium.

Kreppein describes his competition-winning composition as a musical game of hide and seek, with subtle references to the works of Schumann, Coltrane, Bach and others. “Musical phrases are followed by their shadows,” he explains, “which transform into new objects, some of them seem familiar but disappear before disclosing their full identity.”

Learn more about Ulrich Kreppein by visiting

Aaron Travers

Aaron Travers

Aaron Travers, Second Prize

Born in Portsmouth, Virgina, in 1975, Aaron Travers, Ph.D., has emerged as the competition's Second Prize winner for his original work entitled Fairytale. For his achievement, Mr. Travers receives a $20,000 cash award and the opportunity to write a new work that will be performed by one of CCM’s orchestras in fall 2014.

Mr. Travers’ works have been performed widely throughout the United States and Canada, as well as select locations in Scotland, France, Colombia and Malaysia. His music has been featured at such festivals as the World Saxophone Congress at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, the Tanglewood Festival of Contemporary Music, and the Festival de Violoncelle in Beauvais, France.

Mr. Travers is also a dedicated teacher of composition and theory, teaching at such institutions as Northwestern University, Syracuse University, Loyola University and Hamilton College. He currently serves as Assistant Professor of Composition at the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University in Bloomington.

Learn more about Aaron Travers by visiting

Miguel Farías

Miguel Farías

Miguel Farías, Third Prize

Miguel Farías has received Third Prize in the 2013 Alexander Zemlinsky Composition Competition for his original work entitled Ecos de un Color (Echoes of a Color). For his achievement, Mr. Farías receives a cash award of $10,000.

Born in Maracaibo, Venezuela, in 1983, the Chilean composer has studied in Chile, France and Switzerland. In 2008, Farías was composer-in-residence for the Fifth Forum for Young Composers of the Ensemble Aleph in France. In 2009, he was a finalist in the Reading Panel of the Ensemble Intercontemporain/Ircam, and in 2011 he was a finalist in the Lucerne Festival’s “Composer Project,” with Pierre Boulez as jury.

His opera Renca, Paris y Liendres was premiered with great success in 2012 by the Orquesta Sinfónica de Chile. He received the 2012 Critics Award for the opera and the Chilean Prize for National Arts “Altazor 2013.”

Learn more about Miguel Farías by visiting