CCM Navigation

CCM, Composition, Musicology and TheoryCollege-Conservatory of MusicComposition, Musicology & TheoryUniversity of Cincinnati

CCM, Composition, Musicology and Theory

Past Winners



Enrico Chapela, First Prize

Enrico Chapela is one of the most exciting young talents to emerge from Latin America, with a growing number of international performances and commissions. He studied guitar and composition in Mexico City and Paris/St Denis. His musical style seeks to fuse different geographic traditions and musical soundworlds, so that contemporary techniques can happily coexist with minimalist, jazz or rock idioms. His symphonic poem ¬°Inguesu!, a 9-minute musical rendering of the 1999 Mexico vs. Brazil soccer match, has travelled widely since its premiere by the Carlos Chavez Symphony Orchestra in 2003, including a North American tour in 2007 by the Philharmonic Orchestra of the Americas. His music is exclusively published by Boosey & Hawkes.


Narong Prangcharoen, Second Prize

The music of Thai composer Narong Prangcharoen has been called "absolutely captivating." (Chicago Sun Times).  Although still in his early thirties, Prangcharoen has established an international reputation and is recognized as one of Thailand's leading composers.  Prangcharoen has received many international prizes, including the Alexander Zemlinsky International Composition Competition Prize, the 18th ACL Yoshiro IRINO Memorial Composition Award, the Pacific Symphony's American Composers Competition Prize, the Toru Takemitsu Composition Award, and most recently, the Annapolis Charter 300 International Composers Competition Prize.  In 2007, the Thai government named Prangcharoen a Contemporary National Artist and awarded him the Silapathorn Award, one of Thailand's most prestigious honors.

Cynthia Wong

Cynthia Lee Wong, Third Prize

Cynthia Lee Wong has received international acclaim as a unique personality among the new generation of composers.  Commissioned twice by musica viva and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, she has received praise for her "shamelessly beautiful" music as well as her devotion toward "not only the avant-garde audience, but all classical enthusiasts or indeed all music lovers" (deutsche Zeitung). Current commissions include a work for Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, to be premiered October 12-14, including Opening Night at Carnegie Hall, as well as a piece for the Duo Slaato Reinecke. Three Portraits was performed by the Orchestra Teatro Olimpico on November 20, 2011 in Vicenza, Italy.


Katsuji Maeda, First Prize


Moritz Eggert, Second Prize

Number Nine I-III

Kelly-Marie Murphy, Third Prize