Navigation Header

Navigation Header

Musical Theater Banner

Musical Theater Banner
Crazy for You

The Faculty

THE MUSICAL THEATRE PROGRAM is part of the larger division known as TAPAA (Theatre Arts, Production and Arts Administration). This in turn is one of the eleven Divisions that make up the College-Conservatory of Music.

During their four years in residence, musical theatre majors work with a wide variety of faculty drawn from the TAPAA Division and the Conservatory at large. Faculty members who routinely instruct for the Musical Theatre Program are listed below.

Musical Theatre

  • Aubrey Berg (Acting; Audition Techniques; History; Resident Director)
  • Vince DeGeorge (Acting, Lyric Theatre)
  • Steven Goers (Musical Director, Arranger)
  • Roger Grodsky (Vocal Coaching; Resident Musical Director)
  • Diane Lala (Dance; Resident Choreographer; Pilates)
  • Julie Spangler (Musical Director, Arranger)

Dramatic Performance

  • Katelyn Reed (Voice and Dialects)
  • Richard Hess (Acting; Resident Director)
  • k. Jenny Jones (Acting; Stage Combat)
  • Robert Pavlovich (Acting for the Camera)
  • Michael Carr (Suzuki Techniques)


  • David H. Adams
  • Thomas E. Baresel
  • Kimberly D'Acha
  • Patricia Linhart
  • Karen Lykes
  • William McGraw
  • Kenneth Shaw
  • Mary Henderson Stucky


  • Patti James (Tap, Jazz)
  • Diane Lala (Jazz, Pilates)
  • Judith Mikita (Ballet)
  • Jiang Qi (Ballet)
  • Michael Tevlin (Ballet)

Theatre Design and Production

  • James H. Gage (Lighting Design)
  • Mark Halpin (Set Design)
  • Michele Kay (Stage Management)
  • Dean Mogle (Costume Design)
  • Rebecca Senske (Costume Design)
  • Stirling Shelton (Technical Direction)
  • Thomas C. Umfrid (Set Design)
  • Kelly Yurko (Make-Up Design)


  • Mark Gibson
  • Brett Scott

Music Theory

  • Alexandre Bádue


THE MUSICAL THEATRE PROGRAM routinely invites working professionals in the field to visit CCM to present master classes on the various aspects of a performing career. These include performers, directors, choreographers and dancers, musical directors and conductors, vocal coaches, agents and casting directors, critics, producers and cast members from national touring productions. A selection of participants includes Andy Blankenbuhler, Jason Robert Brown, Craig Carnelia, Dave Clemmons, Gemze De Lapp, Peter Filichia, Jason Graae, Stephen Flaherty, Nicole Fosse, Patti LuPone, Karen Mason, Kevin McCollum, Arthur Miller, Faith Prince, Jose Riviera, Sam Samuelson, Mark Simon, Wole Soyinka, Chet Walker, Jim Wilhelm and Edward Albee.

“It was very clear to me that the faculty at CCM care deeply about their students and about the success of their program. The passion of the students is contagious. A conversation with a current Musical Theatre student really stood out for me. I asked him how he felt about CCM and he said: ‘I absolutely love it.’ That simple answer was so genuine, passionate and full of love. I was instantly convinced CCM was the place I wanted to be.”

unsolicited letter from a visiting student
Meet Our Students





Our Alumni

Matt Bogart

Matt Bogart
Class of 1994

Betsy Wolfe

Betsy Wolfe
Class of 2004

Brian Sears

Brian Sears
Class of 2005

Kristy Cates

Kristy Cates
Class of 1999

Justin Bohon

Justin Bohon
Class of 2000

Ana Andricain

Ana Maria Andricain
Class of 1990


Photo Credits

Banner Top: Laura Hall and the Girls in "I Got Rhythm" from Crazy for You, Corbett Auditorium.