CCM Navigation



New Search

Randy Gardner
Professor of Horn; Chair, Winds and Percussion Department

Building: Memorial Hall
Room: 366

Area of Instruction: Brass
Faculty Since: 1996
Credentials: BM, with Distinction, Pi Kappa Lambda, Valparaiso University; graduate studies, Indiana University
Biography: A prolific orchestral and chamber musician, soloist and clinician, Randy Gardner was the second hornist of the Philadelphia Orchestra (with whom he still occasionally performs) under the batons of music directors Wolfgang Sawallisch, Riccardo Muti, and Eugene Ormandy (1975-97) and with the Miami Philharmonic (1974-75). He is a current member of the Cincinnati Chamber Orchestra and also performs regularly with the Cincinnati Symphony Orchestra; since joining CCM, he has also performed with the Boston Symphony, Colorado Symphony, Minnesota Orchestra and Pittsburgh Symphony.

He is the author of the International Opus publication Mastering the Horn's Low Register and composed WHY?! for unaccompanied horn (published by Thompson Edition). He was performer and co-producer for the Summit Records CD Shared Reflections: The Legacy of Philip Farkas and also contributed to a book about his teacher, Philip Farkas: Legacy of a Master.

Gardner has taught at Temple University Esther Boyer College of Music (1979, 1986-96), New School of Music (1977-1986), New York State Summer School of the Arts (1988-present) and the Luzerne (NY) Music Center (1985-present). His has taught at Indiana University, Philadelphia Biblical University and Trenton State College.

He was a performer and clinician at the 1995 International Brassfest and several International Horn Society workshops. He has held numerous master class and regional horn workshops nationally and internationally, and has been published in The Horn Call. Since 1999 he has served on the Advisory Council of the International Horn Society.

Gardner studied horn with Philip Farkas, Christopher Leuba, Ethel Merker, and William Adam and music history with Hans Tischler.

In 2011, he was awarded CCM's Ernest N. Glover Outstanding Teacher Award.